In what (I think?) is a time honored tradition in book blogging, here my first “waiting on Wednesday!”

There are still two full months before Betrayalsthe fourth installment in the Cainsville series by Kelley Armstrong comes out…the wait seems endless. I was so excited for this book that I, for the first time ever, participated in a contest to win an ARC. Haven’t heard back, but am keeping my fingers crossed!

Otherwise I might indulge myself and order it for Kindle when it’s released, August 9, since my local library doesn’t carry Kelley Armstrong. Those fuckers (said with love, of course). Though I appreciate getting a hard copy, for Betrayals I wouldn’t mind it. The dog on the cover is pretty cute and all, but this cover is really one of the most random ones I’ve seen. In the context of the series, it makes little sense to me. Still, better than another half naked woman on the cover I guess, you can take this one on the metro without a glitch 😉

Cainsville series 

The first three installments in this series were super fun. They revolve around Olivia, who finds out she is the child of convicted serial killers and has to deal with the fall out from that. To cope, she moves to Cainsville, a creepy village where nothing is as it seems.

The supernatural twist is a subtle one in the beginning: Olivia sees omens that guide her through life. The supernatural elements get stronger when Olivia becomes aware that she and her two love interests (both pretty yummy, of course) are part of an age old tale that keeps repeating itself. I can’t wait for the fourth book to see if Olivia breaks the cycle (and what guy she ends up with, shallowness rules here, alright). 

This series is a pretty light but entertaining read, so I definitely recommend! If you don’t know Kelley Armstrong, I suggest you read all her books especially if you are looking for some strong female characters displaying common sense. Start with the Women of the Otherworld series, you won’t regret it.

 

Is there a book you can’t wait to get your hands on? Any book you can recommend to get me through this drought? Any cliffhangers that will take forever to be resolved? Any contests you participated in? Do share! Let me know in the comments or get in touch with me on Twitter, I’d love to hear from you!

 

